Loading Events
Stanford Live

Sarah Chang with Telegraph String Quartet

April 27, 2020
Bing Concert Hall

Courtesy of Stanford Live

Updated March 16, 2020: In response to domestic coronavirus developments, Stanford University is strongly discouraging all large-scale university gatherings, effective March 4 through May 15. Stanford Live, in compliance with the university’s decision, is moving to cancel large-scale performances within this time frame. This performance has been canceled—read more.

Born in Philadelphia in 1980 to classical musicians from South Korea, Sarah Chang was a rarity: a true child prodigy who auditioned for Juilliard at age 5 by playing the Bruch violin concerto. She got in. She plays the 1714 Guarneri del Gesu violin that once belonged to her teacher and mentor Isaac Stern. At Stanford Live she joins the esteemed Telegraph String Quartet— residents at the San Francisco Conservatory of Music—to perform Vivaldi’s Four Seasons and Astor Piazzolla’s Four Seasons of Buenos Aires.

More from Stanford Live

See full archives