Full Cast and Creative Team for “Let the Right One In” Announced

Manuel Harlan

Berkeley Repertory Theatre has announced the full cast and creative team for the West Coast premiere of the National Theatre of Scotland production of Let the Right One In, performing at Berkeley Rep’s Roda Theatre May 20 through June 25, 2023.

Tony Award winners Jack Thorne and John Tiffany (Harry Potter and the Cursed Child), along with Obie Award winner Steven Hoggett (2023 revival of Sweeney Todd, Harry Potter and the Cursed Child), have entertained audiences on both sides of the Atlantic with their exhilarating, cutting-edge brand of theatrical storytelling. Now they bring us a supernatural thriller that’s part brutal vampire myth and part coming-of-age romance. Oskar, a bullied boy from a broken home, and Eli, a teenager who moves in next door and rarely leaves the house, become devoted friends. When their neighborhood is haunted by a series of mysterious murders, a shocking truth tests Oskar and Eli’s growing love.

“Together and separately, John Tiffany, Jack Thorne, and Steven Hoggett have created some of the most electrifying nights I’ve ever experienced in the theater,” said Berkeley Repertory Theatre Artistic Director Johanna Pfaelzer. “I am so proud to welcome them to Berkeley Rep with this beautifully tender and thrilling story.”

The cast of Let the Right One In includes (in alphabetical order) Ignacio Diaz-Silverio (Oskar), Jack DiFalco (Janne, Jimmy, Torkel), Erik Hellman (Kurt, Oskar’s Dad, Jocke, Nils, Stefan), Michael Johnston (Jonny), Noah Lamanna (Eli), Diego Lucano (Micke), Nicole Shalhoub (Oskar’s Mum), Julius Thomas III (Halmberg, Mr. Avila), and Richard Topol (Hakan).

Directed by John Tiffany, Let the Right One In is adapted for the stage by Jack Thorne from John Ajvide Lindqvist’s Swedish novel and screenplay of the film of the same name. The creative team includes Steven Hoggett (Associate Director/Movement), Christine Jones (Scenic Designer), Chahine Yavroyan (deceased) (Lighting Designer), Gareth Fry (Sound Designer), Aileen Sherry (Costume Designer), Ólafur Arnalds/Arnór Dan Arnarson (Composer), Jeremy Chernick (Special Effects Designer), Lillis Meeh (Special Effects Supervisor), Yasmine Lee (Associate Movement Director), and Lisa Anne Porter (Resident Associate Director/Vocal Coach), with casting by Jim Carnahan Casting.

Tickets are now available for purchase.