Loading Events
Seattle Symphony

From Mendelssohn to Milhaud

June 18, 2024
Benaroya Hall

Seattle Symphony

Darius Milhaud’s Suite for Violin, Clarinet and Piano was taken from the incidental music he wrote for Jean Anouilh’s 1937 play, Le voyageur sans bagage (The Traveler Without Luggage). The Trio by Armenian composer Aram Khachaturian features his characteristic style of composing classical music with folk-inspired rhythms and melodies, all emphasized by colorful instrumentation. Mendelssohn’s self-assured Piano Trio in C minor is the composer’s final chamber work.